4 Reasons to Love Fantasy Football (even if you aren’t a football fan).

hxpu9qm

Image via Imugr.com

I just finished my Fantasy Football Draft for the 2016-17 NFL season, and I’m totally amped about it. I’m jacked, psyched, wound up, geeked out, and nearly rabid with anticipation for the first week of play.

Every fantasy junkie (or junkette) knows this feeling. The entire season is ahead of you, your starters are poised to have the best season of their lives, Arian Foster and Jamaal Charles are still healthy. It’s the end of summer but it  feels like spring.

Up till a few years ago, I would have scoffed at this pass time. Growing up in Canada did not instill an obsessive interest in the NFL. But when, in an effort to be more sociable, I joined my office league, I was hooked. Something in my brain just loves the way fantasy football works. For the uninitiated, I’ve prepared a short list that describes the attraction.

  1. You get to crush my enemies, see them driven before me, and hear the lamentations of their women. Winning in fantasy football is like winning at anything else in life. It. Feels. Awesome.
  2. I learn respect for the turning of Fortune’s Wheel. No one is guaranteed tomorrow. Your team will be subject to cruel twists of fate (suspensions, injuries, fireworks related mishaps). Nobody feels that as keenly as the fantasy footballer. Ok, the actual coaches and players probably feel it more than we do. Yeah but still!
  3. It has the right mix of luck and skill. Any game of wide appeal needs this. When luck is almost always the deciding factor in a game, a large portion of humanity loses interest. If it is all about skill, then only a small segment of the intended audience will put in the work necessary to become competitive.
  4. It rewards hard work. The first season I played in my office league, I made some rookie mistakes and suffered a few significant injuries on my roster. But with a little work and attention week over week, I was able to rebuild my team and come back to take second place. It wasn’t magic or luck, but persistent striving  that got me there. That’s a valuable lesson for everyone.

Have  a great season and God bless.

Leave a Reply

