A Change of Pace

Painful admission. I’m not a machine. But I can get better than what I is.

As much as I enjoy it, I think I’ve been spending too much time on this blog. Not just writing it but checking stats, looking at like notifications, clicking like on other things, updating the stats page in WordPress, and other activities that can just plain eat up an afternoon.

In short, I’m spending less time writing stories (which is kind of the friggin’ point) and more time fiddling on the blog I’ve been writing primarily as a means to build an audience for the stories I’m not writing. But what to do about it?

Realignment! Radical RE-alignment! Reprioritization! Recolonization! Repatriation! Reformation! Recommitment! These are just some of the words I’m using in this paragraph.

Legions of Fans, here is my new routine/daily discipline for writing in order of importance

  1. 500 words a day on a story or novel. 
  2. No more than 30 minutes per day on blogging or other social media.
  3. Turn off notifications on smartphone.

Number three is going to be the hardest.

Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

